Tags

, , , , , ,

What a wild, wonderful year 2014 has been! I’m so thankful for the amazing opportunities I’ve had, the friends I’ve found along the way, and the adventures I’ve been on. Before I get ready to let this year go, I wanted to take a short look back at 2014.

In early February, my first nonfiction book, Goddess Spells for Busy Girls, was released by Weiser Books. As the little pink book hit the shelves, I also hit a milestone: my 30th birthday came at the end of that month.

Then came March, and the release of Daughter of Chaos from Month9Books, the first in my YA fantasy Red Magic series. I’ve been working on the series since 2011, and even though it was my third release, I’ll always think of DAUGHTER as something of a debut; this is the book that I fell so in love with while writing that prompted me to shift from teaching full-time to writing full time in 2011, and what a wild ride it’s been!

The year just kept getting better after that; in April, I applied to and was accepted into the MFA program in Children’s Literature at Hollins University, and I started my course work in June. Also in June, the sequel to my NA mystery The Secret of Isobel Key, Her Secret Inheritance, released from Bloomsbury Spark.

Backtracking a bit, I can’t forget my spring-time adventures: in April, I had the chance to attend YA Fest in Pennsylvania, and I am SO excited to be heading back for the 2015 festival! Then, in May, I got to hit NYC for BEA and BookCon, meeting publishers, readers, and author friends, and generally having a fabulous time (oh, and getting within a few feet of Cary Elwes…my sweet Westley!)

After spending June and July at Hollins (also known as the secret garden), hubby and I took an early August trip to one of my absolute favorite spots on earth, Stratford, Ontario, where we saw two wonderful plays and just generally had a perfect getaway.

The fall was a whirlwind of teaching, editing, and enjoying the beautiful weather (plus taking two more MFA classes), and then in December, I watched in excitement as my fifth book, the YA retelling of Cupid and Psyche called Beautiful Curse, was released by Swoon Romance.  Oh, and then we packed in lots of family and travel before the year wound down!

Whew. It’s no wonder I’m tired, and looking forward to a low-key New Years Eve with friends (and an early bed-time tonight). 2014 has been a year of books (four releases in the calendar year!), a year of travel (two book events in two different states, plus lots and lots of family adventures), a year of new beginnings (hello, MFA!), and a year of busy bliss.  I’m so grateful for the opportunities I’ve had this year, and you can bet I’ll be lighting a candle in thanks tonight before 2014 gives way to 2015.

Over the years, I’ve begun to shy away from resolutions (doesn’t it sort of feel like resolutions mean there’s something WRONG with your life?), and instead, I’ve started to make wishes for the coming year. So, in 2015, I wish for laughter, surprises, and words, words, words! And for you, my dear friends, I wish a year of delight and magic! What will you wish into being for the coming year?

Farewell, 2014! You’ve been wonderful!

Happy New Year, y’all. ❤

