Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

This post will be my last reading log response from my independent study project, but I’ll be posting a follow-up reflection on the whole experience, too, so watch for it later this week!

My last novel was Brooklyn Girls by Gemma Burgess. I selected this one because a) I hadn’t heard of it before, and b) it came VERY highly recommended from my crowd sourcing question on Twitter while I was compiling this reading list. I’m SO GLAD I picked this book, because I think it was my favorite read out of the entire semester.

About the book:

Pia is a bit of a hot mess. She’s just graduated from college and moved into a Brooklyn apartment with four other young women, and after a week at her first job, she’s already been fired. Pia’s got a party-girl demeanor to mask her deep insecurities and the sense that she’s never belonged anywhere, but an impulse purchase after a trip to a food truck rodeo offers her something she’s lacked: direction. When Pia buys a food truck and attempts to start her own business, things begin to shift subtly for her. Although the story may sound simple, it’s packed with emotional highs and lows and Pia struggles to find her place in the adult world (including some brushes with romance, and more than one dangerous encounter with the loan shark she’s mistakenly borrowed from). This is the first title in a series, and I would definitely read more about these characters!

What makes it NA?

Honestly, for much of this book, I was thinking it walked a lot closer to the “chick lit” line than to NA; many of Pia’s escapades are hard to believe, and the way she goes from one bad situation to another felt too comic to be true. However, despite my initial hesitations to label this as a NA title, one thing cemented it for me when I finished the book: no matter how ridiculous Pia’s circumstances may seem, the crux of this book is her age (just out of college) and her desperate struggle to figure out what shape her adult life is going to take. She and her roommates are battling stereotypes and expectations while trying to pursue things that they feel passionate about, which is a perfect example of the “What now?” question that I believe drives all NA.

What about you? Have you read BROOKLYN GIRLS? What did you think?

 

