Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Confession time: I’m a BIG fan of Jennifer Armentrout/J. Lynn (and I only made a fool of myself the first time I met her…the second time, I think I came across as slightly less crazy…maybe). Because of that, and because I think she’s a writer who’s willing to push boundaries and explore new territory, I wanted to include one of her titles in my independent study. I picked Wait for You because of it’s crazy success (being self-published for only a short time before it was acquired by an imprint of Harper Collins), and I also wanted to include it because I’d read it previously, and I thought there was a lot of interesting stuff going on in the story that I wanted to explore a bit deeper.

About the book:

The story centers around Avery Morgansten, a college freshman with an emotionally distant family and a past she’d rather forget. When she meets Cam on the first day of classes, her instincts tell her there’s no way the pretty, reformed party boy could possibly be interested in her, but Cam spends most of their first semester of college trying to prove that he wants a relationship. They encounter more than their fair share of hurdles, all against the backdrop of the confusion and freedom of college life, and eventually Avery realizes that letting Cam in will mean facing the fears she’s ignored for too long.

What makes it NA?

This book is a great example of the complexity of NA literature. Is there a romance? Yes. Are there some steamy scenes? Absolutely. Is there a lot more going on than just love? Oh, yeah. Avery’s first year of college is punctuated with confusion, longing, and the need to face her past and own her experiences, no matter what. She has an opportunity to really grow into her truest adult self, or to remain stifled and trapped in the mind of her fourteen-year-old self. While her relationship with Cam plays a major part in Avery’s maturity, factors including her new college friendships and the freedom of being away from home for the first time play a role too, making this a story of romance that’s also about so much more. Also, it’s a great example of how NA can be used to deal with tough, taboo topics effectively, offering a place of healing not only for characters, but perhaps for readers, as well.

 

What about you? Have you read WAIT FOR YOU? What did you think?

