Tags

, ,

writers on wednesday banner 2

Welcome to September, everyone! Get your pencils ready and prepare to be inspired by my guest this week, Tia Bach.

When did you start writing?

Many years ago (really, I had journals full of writings in my teen years), but my first book was published in 2010. Chasing Shadows, my third book and the second of a series, was published last month (May). My mother is an avid reader and a published poet, so I grew up surrounded by books and stories.

Are you a pantser or a planner?

So a pantser, although I’m often jealous of planners. My characters take me on a crazy ride with each book. When I’ve tried to rein them in, I’ve scared them away.

Can you give us an idea of your writing process?

Although it doesn’t sound very sexy, I grab a Diet Coke and a snack (if I get hungry, my Muse disappears) and start typing. When I’m away from my computer, I jot notes about the story as they come to me. I have a notebook in my purse, my car… I never go without one.

When I’m done with my first draft, I walk away from it for at least a month. Then, I edit it twice myself (once for grammar/punctuation, once for plot issues) before handing it off to betas and my editor.

Which authors have influenced your work?

Judy Blume early on. Now, there are so many–both indie and traditional. A short list: Melissa Foster, Nora Roberts, Billie Letts, Fannie Flagg, Wally Lamb, John Green.

What are you plans/future projects/new releases that we should be aware of?

I just released my third book and the second in a series in May (Chasing Shadows). The third in that series should be out later this year as well as a novella (2.5).

Any tips for new writers?

Read as many books, across many genres, as you can. Most importantly, WRITE. Write every day, even if it’s something short. Keep the welcome mat out for your Muse. Finally, surround yourself with other writers. I don’t know what I’d do without my writing community. They’ve taught me so much.

Any tips for old writers?

WRITE. It’s a tip that keeps on giving. Also, keep your creative juices flowing by trying new things.

Connect with Tia:

http://www.tiabach.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/tia.bach.author

Blog: http://depressioncookies.blogspot.com

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Tia_Bach_Author

