Tags

,

writers on wednesday banner 2Today, my guest is Kaitlin Bevis. She’s the author of the DAUGHTERS OF ZEUS series, and she’s joined me to talk about craft, inspiration, and vampires. Enjoy!

 
1. When did you start writing?

Oh I’ve always been a writer. Ever since I was itty-bitty and couldn’t spell a single word. I got serious about it after I graduated college. As much as I loved writing, between all the school assignments in high school and college, I couldn’t devote as much time or energy to it until then.
2. Are you a pantser or a planner?

I’m a pantser that keeps trying, unsuccessfully, to become a planner. I outline…mostly after I’ve written the book between drafts. The outline really does help. I just can’t plan much before I write it.
3. Can you give us an idea of your writing process?

Honestly, I just sit down and write. Movie previews have been major sources of inspiration in the past, as odd as that seems. I try to write the entire time my daughter’s in preschool. I have writer’s group every other week, which keeps me accountable word-count wise. And once I finish a draft, I revise, revise, revise. The hardest part for me is getting that first draft all down on the page because it sucks and it’s so easy to get discouraged or distracted by another idea. Revisions are what makes books worth reading.
4. Which authors have influenced your work?

L. J Smith, Kelley Armstrong, and Scott Westerfeld. They are all phenomenal writers. I didn’t discover Armstrong or Westerfeld until I was an adult, but L.J Smith shaped my childhood. And I’m willing to bet most urban fantasy authors owe her in a major way.
5. What are you plans/future projects/new releases that we should be aware of?

Right now, I’m working on getting Venus and Adonis queried, drafting the second book in Aphrodite’s trilogy, Love and War, and working on a book about Vampires. I’m really excited about each of my projects.
6. Any tips for new writers?

Join a writer’s group and listen to what they say. They are my absolute best writing tools.
7. Any tips for old writers?

Keep writing!

 

Bio:

Kaitlin Bevis spent her childhood curled up with a book, and a pen. If the ending didn’t agree with her, she rewrote it. She’s always wanted to be a writer, and spent high school and college learning everything she could so that one day she could achieve that goal. She graduated college with my BFA in English with a concentration in Creative Writing, and is pursuing her masters at the University of Georgia.
Her young adult series “Daughters of Zeus” is available wherever ebooks are sold. She also writes for truuconfessions.com and Athens Parent Magazine.

CONNECT WITH KAITLIN:

Email: kaitlinbevis@gmail.com

Webpage: www.kaitlinbevis.com

Blog: www.kaitlinbevis.com/blog

Amazon Page: http://www.amazon.com/Kaitlin-Bevis/e/B00875POAG/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

Goodreads Page: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6150699.Kaitlin_Bevis

Authorgraph: http://www.authorgraph.com/authors/KaitlinBevis

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Kaitlin-Bevis/224768864266454

Tumbler: http://kaitlinbevis.tumblr.com

Twitter: @kaitlinbevis

 

