Tags

, ,

writers on wednesday banner 2Today, my Bloomsbury Spark pub sister L.S. Murphy joined me to talk about riding the creative roller coaster. Enjoy!

When did you start writing?

I’ve been writing since junior high school. When my 8th grade English teacher had the class read “Harrison Bergeron” by Kurt Vonnegut, I knew I wanted to write.

Are you a pantser or a planner?

I used to be a pantser, but now I outline everything.

Can you give us an idea of your writing process?

I usually get the idea and develop the characters from there. After I that, I develop a timeline then comes the detailed outline. This can take anywhere from a few months to a few years, depending on the story.

Which authors have influenced your work?

Biggest influence is Kurt Vonnegut. His work opened my eyes to a different world and way of thinking.

What are you plans/future projects/new releases that we should be aware of?

My next novel, PIXELATED, will be released through Bloomsbury Spark. It’s about a city girl whose life gets uprooted when her mother and stepfather move to a small farm town, and she falls for the golden boy who has a pretty big secret.

Any tips for new writers?

Don’t give up. If writing is what you want to do, then do it.

Any tips for old writers?

Life is a roller coaster. 😉

L.S. Murphy lives in the Greater St. Louis area where she watches Cardinals baseball, reads every book she can find, and weaves tales for teens and adults. When not doing all of the above, she tends to The Bean (aka her daughter), her husband and a menagerie of pets.

Connect with her on Twitter @LSMurphy,  and visit her website for more information! http://lsmurphy.com

