Tags

, , ,

writers on wednesday banner 2Today, my Bloomsbury Spark pub sister Jenny Kaczorowski joins me to talk about FALLING, pantsing, and more. Enjoy!

1. When did you start writing?

I’ve been writing as long as I can remember and telling stories even more that. I began writing seriously in winter 2008, finishing my first full length, polished manuscript about seven months later.
2. Are you a pantser or a planner?

Die hard pantser. I’ve tried – repeatedly – to plan, but I enjoy the unpredictable nature of pantsing. Plotting keeps me stuck in place, trying to figure out where to go instead of just going.
3. Can you give us an idea of your writing process?

I usually let an idea roll around in my head a bit before I start writing. Often a rough concept or a single line of dialog or a certain phrase will pop into my head and I’ll jot it down in Evernote. At some point (usually between 4-10k words), I realize I have too many notes and move them all to a Word document. From there, I start at chapter 1, writing linearly as I incorporate my notes. If I want to write ahead, I do that in Evernote. Once I have draft zero, I go back to the beginning and read/write/edit through to the end. At that point, I have what I consider a first draft. That goes to critique partner or two willing to dig into the nitty gritty with me. Once I have it hammered out, I send to another couple CPs for polishing notes. And that’s that!
ArtofFalling_Comps_FIN_Rev_RGB4. Which authors have influenced your work?

I write contemporary romance, but most of my influences are speculative fiction and classic. C.S. Lewis, Madeleine L’Engle, Susan Cooper, Lois Lowry, Agatha Christie, Arthur Conan Doyle. More recently, I’ve been loving Jodi Meadows, Laini Taylor, Leigh Ann Kopans and Stephanie Perkins.
5. What are you plans/future projects/new releases that we should be aware of?

I am working with my CPs on my second YA contemp romance set in the same high school as THE ART OF FALLING. It’s the story of Summer, a skater who wants to forget her past on the half pipe, and Bastian, a boy who wants a future beyond the bleeding disorder that defines his life. I’m also in the very early part of drafting a third book. After that, I think I might pick up one of my speculative fiction projects again.
6. Any tips for new writers?

Keep writing! You can’t get better if you don’t practice. Surround yourself with supportive people and press forward.
7. Any tips for old writers?

Keep writing! You can’t get better if you don’t practice. Surround yourself with supportive people and press forward.

 

Old or new, the best way to reach your dreams as a writer is to keep pursuing them !

 

Connect with Jenny: KGD_412_2_bw_sq

Website: jennykacz.com

Tumblr: http://jennykacz.tumblr.com/

Twitter: twitter.com/jennykacz

Facebook: facebook.com/byjennykaczorowski

Blog: jennykaczorowski.blogspot.com

 

The Art of Falling:

Add it on goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18619662-the-art-of-falling

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/The-Art-Falling-Jenny-Kaczorowski-ebook/dp/B00GRMDW2I

Audible: http://www.audible.com/pd/Teens/The-Art-of-Falling-Audiobook/B00HHGE6LO/ref=a_search_c4_1_1_srTtl?qid=1391034007&sr=1-1

Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-art-of-falling-jenny-kaczorowski/1117666258?ean=9781619634695

Kobo: http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/the-art-of-falling

iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/the-art-of-falling/id771320931?mt=11

 

