Tags

, , , ,

Today, my friend Ally Malinenko stops by to reveal the cover for her YA novel, THIS IS SARAH, and to share a behind the scenes look at Colin Leventhal’s medication Journal. I had the opportunity to read an early draft of this book, and let me tell you, it’s AMAZING!
 
 
 
Medication
Journal
 


Patient:
Colin
Leventhal

 

Age: 17
City/State:
Windsor, Colorado
Sex: Male

 

Medication:
Fluvoxamine 100 mg
 
INTRO: (In this
space please detail your current medication regimen as well as
recent medical history)
This is like the
fifth time I’ve started this stupid thing.
Just for the
record, the only reason I’m doing this is because my mother begged
me.
 
HOW DO YOU FEEL?
I feel like shit. I
can’t sleep. I can’t eat. I have a constant headache. I feel
like I’m underwater all of the time. I try to eat, but it’s like
something just grabs my throat right at that moment and absolutely
no food is going down there. The other day at dinner, I chewed that
steak my father made till it turned grey and then I spit it in the
garbage.
Problem is, I have
to eat to take these stupid pills you’re making me take which,
just for the record, aren’t making me feel any better.

 
ARE YOU
EXPERIENCING DIZZINESS/ANXIETY/NAUSEAU
IF SO WHEN?
Yeah. See above
about me feeling like shit.
Pretty much every
day.
 
PLEASE DESCRIBE IN
DETAIL YOUR SLEEPING PATTERNS
Detail? Okay. I
don’t sleep. When I do, I dream about Sarah. When I wake up I
forget for just a second that she’s gone, that she was taken, and
for just a minute my life is what it used to be and then it all
comes crashing down again. Then I want to hit something until my
hand breaks just to make it stop.
 
ARE YOU FEELING
AGGRESSIVE WHEN MEDICATING?
Ask my mother how
many things I’ve broken. Go ahead. Ask her.
 
PLEASE PLACE A
CHECKMARK NEXST TO ALL SYMPTOMS THAT APPLY TO YOUR CURRENT DRUG
REGIMEN:


 

  • Nausea
  • Vomiting
  • Dizziness
  • Difficulty
    sleeping/Insomnia
  • Palpitations
  • Nervousness
  • Dry Mouth
  • Tachycardia
    (Increased heart rate)
  • Hyperhidrosis
    (excessive sweating)
  • Headaches
  • Irritability
  • Nightmares
  • Confusion
  • Hyperactivity
  • Difficulty
    Concentrating
  • Psychosis
  • Suicidal
    Thoughts
  • Sexual
    Dysfunction

 

 

 

  • PLEASE
    LIST ANY ADDITIONAL NOTES HERE:
  • Well, I did
    pretty good on the list. All I got to look forward to is not being
    able to get it up, going insane and killing myself.

  • Thanks
    Doc.
  • DO
    NOT WRITE BELOW THIS LINE
  • ________________________________________________________________________________
  • PHYSICIAN’S
    NOTES: Patient is suffering from acute PTSD as well as OCD and
    depressive disorder after the disappearance and probable death of
    this girlfriend Sarah Evans. Possible signs of mania and aggressive
    behavior. MSE indicates hostile/guarded/possibly repressed rapport.
    Stereotypy includes repetitive clenching of jaw and fist. Mood is
    angry/anxious and affect varies from blunted to heightened
    suggesting manic-depressive swings. Thought process is steady but
    content hinges on obsession over missing girlfriend and possible
    delusions regarding her future return. Minor psychotic tendencies.
    During sessions patient has reference thought broadcasting and
    somatic passivity.

  • Suggested
    increase in Fluvoxamine dosage of 50 mg pending results of cognition
    test.
 
 
 
 
About the author:

Ally Malinenko is the author of the poetry collection, The Wanting Bone (Six Gallery Press), and the children’s novel Lizzy Speare and the Cursed Tomb (Antenna Books). This Is Sarah is her first YA book. Ally lives in Brooklyn with her husband and a very ridiculous tabby cat. She blogs at allymalinenko.com and you can follow her on twitter at @allymalinenko. 

 
 
About the book:

When Colin Leventhal leaned out his bedroom window on the night of May 12th and said goodbye to his girlfriend, he never expected it would be forever. But when Sarah Evans goes missing that night, Colin’s world unravels as he is transformed from the boyfriend next door to the main police suspect. Then one year later, at her memorial service, Colin makes a phone call that could change everything. Is it possible that Sarah is still alive? And if so, what is Colin willing to do to bring her back?And as Colin struggles with this possibility, across the street, Sarah’s little sister Claire learns how to navigate the strange new landscape that is life without her sister. Even as her parent’s fall apart, Claire is determined to keep on going. Even if it kills her.

THIS IS SARAH is a meditation on loss, love, and what it means to say goodbye.

And now…for the prettyful cover!

 
 

 
 
