Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve been really behind on blogging lately, but I didn’t realize just how bad it had gotten until I noticed that I’d never completed this post. My lovely Bloomsbury Spark pub sister, Marie Langager, author of BEYOND OUR STARS, tagged me BACK IN JANUARY, and I finally remembered to answer the questions. Total. Blogger. Fail.

 

*cough*

 

But, without further ado, I thought I’d share my “next big thing” with y’all. Thank you, Marie, for the tag (and patience!!)

1. What is the working title of your next book?

HER SECRET INHERITANCE. (ISOBEL KEY #2)

 

2. Where did the idea come from for the book?

This book takes place five years after THE SECRET OF ISOBEL KEY, and when I first wrote ISOBEL, I really didn’t intend for it to be a series. My initial readers, however, kept asking amazing questions, and I realized that the story wasn’t quite finished yet. I really enjoyed continuing the intrigue of Lou’s quest, and it was so fun to write another NA book set in Scotland!

3. What is the genre of your book?

Like ISOBEL, HER SECRET INHERITANCE is a NA contemporary mystery with historical flashbacks. Oh, and there’s a bit of romance, too! 😉

4. What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in the movie rendition?

That question is always so hard for me; who’s the hottest redheaded male actor in film these days?

5. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

When Lou finds herself back in Scotland, she’s haunted by past mistakes.

6. Who is publishing your book?

The fabulous folks at Bloomsbury Spark.

7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript?

I think the first draft took me just under a month. I draft fast and messy, though, and it went through a number of revisions before being ready for my editor (and then we edited it some more!).

8. What would you compare this story to within your genre?

Other dual time narratives that remind me of the ISOBEL KEY series include Susanna Kearsley’s THE WINTER SEA and THE PHYSICK BOOK OF DELIVERANCE DANE by Katherine Howe.

9. Who or what inspired you to write this book?

My readers: one hundred percent. Y’all made me realize that Lou and Isobel’s stories weren’t finished yet, and I’m so grateful you gave me the push to write this sequel!

10. What else about the book might pique a reader’s interest?

Well, the cover hasn’t been revealed yet, and you can still sign up to help (and see if first!) if you’re interested! 🙂

Other things of interest? There’s even more of the supernatural in this story than in ISOBEL KEY, and I’ve added some new characters, too!

I can’t wait to tell you more about this book! Check back here for updates.

 

And now, I tag…Ally Malinenko! Happy hopping!

Ally Malinenko lives in Brooklyn where she wakes at an ungodly hour to write. She’s had poetry and stories published online and in print, including her first collection of poems, entitled The Wanting Bone (Six Gallery Press). Her second book of poems, Crashing to Earth, is forthcoming from Tainted Coffee Press.

Her children’s novel Lizzy Speare and the Cursed Tomb, the first part in a series, has been published by Antenna Books.

To learn more you can follow her on Twitter – https://twitter.com/AllyMalinenko or visit her blog: http://allymalinenko.com/

