Tags

,

Today, my guest is Sashi Kaufmna. I hope you enjoy learning about her process and her upcoming debut THE OTHER WAY AROUND.

1. When did you start writing? 

I’ve always been writing in one form or another. There’s early video recordings of me as a preschooler announcing to the camera, “I have something to say!” and then proceeding to retell Goldilocks. I’ve written about parenting for magazines like Brain Child and about teaching for Green Teacher. But I first started to think about writing novels in 2007ish.

Cover TOWA2. Are you a pantser or a planner?

I’m a little bit of both. I think I’ve learned in the last few years that I create a better product if I work with some kind of outline but it can be a pretty minimal outline and still do the trick.

3. Can you give us an idea of your writing process?

Ack, don’t look behind the curtain!! You’ll see all the trained monkeys churning out the words. Seriously though, I write kind of like I knit. I knit like two rows and then I have to pat the knitting  and smooth it with my hands. When I write I usually only write 2-3 pages before I reread what I’ve done.
4. Which authors have influenced your work?

Probably all of them. I’m not being cheeky but when I read I always pay attention to what the author is doing, how they’re structuring the story, how they’re creating emotion in me as the reader. In writing young adult I could probably cite more specifically; A.S. King, Sara Zarr, and John Green as influences.
5. What are you plans/future projects/new releases that we should be aware of?

Right now I’m working on a book about the friendship between two boys in their last year of high school. It’s intense in that they both have secret reasons for believing they are unworthy of the friendship.
6. Any tips for new writers?

Write what you want to read because ultimately you will spend the most time with the words and stories you create.
7. Any tips for old writers?

There’s always something new to learn.

Author 4 -mini

Sashi Kaufman is an English and science teacher who lives in Westbrook, Maine with her husband and daughter. The Other Way Around is her first YA novel. She believes ice cream is a vitamin and  is also an amateur trash picker.

twitter @sashikaufman
