Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

This Sunday, I will hit a milestone birthday; I’ll be turning 30. Bring it on, world! I have a feeling this is going to be a fabulous year.

It’s certainly a big year for me, book-wise! I’ll be busy, but it’s the kind of busy I love; teaching, learning, and working on one or another of my various book babies.

I keep stumbling upon a quote that says that individual writers basically re-tell the same narrative over and over; it’s the core of our stories, evidently. I’m not entirely sure if I see that kind of unity in my work across genres, but so far, my YA does tend toward certain themes. I can’t seem to get away from mythology, and more than that, my characters make journeys to one Underworld or another with alarming frequency. Maybe it’s my deep attraction to all things Joseph Campbell; the story I love to tell is the hero’s journey, and that’s a story I believe we’re all living, to some extent.

100_4322

As I round the corner on the last days of my twenties, I’m so excited to announce that I’ll be spinning myths again, embarking on another hero’s journey: BEAUTIFUL CURSE, my contemporary retelling of the myth of Cupid and Psyche, will be released later this year from Swoon Romance. I’m so excited to be able to talk about this book now; it’s been in the works for a long time, and the story (and the original myth) have become deeply important to me.

Want to see the deal announcement? 🙂

Jen in PMSo what’s BEAUTIFUL CURSE about? It’s a story of betrayal and trust, of bullying and fear, and a story of magic. I can’t wait to share it with y’all this fall! Can’t wait? Check out my pin board over the coming months as I add images that remind me of the story.

All in all, I’m feeling pretty lucky this birthday. Bring it on, thirty! There will be cake, and there will be writing, and, by God, there will be dancing. (Couldn’t resist a line from my favorite movie as a teen. I’ll leave you with that happy moment).

