Tags

, , , , ,

I’ve been in a bit of a funk lately. Maybe it’s because, despite the sunshine, we’re still very much in the depths of winter, even here in the South, and winter and I have never been the best of friends. Maybe it’s because I’m a little bit stressed, juggling the writing and teaching and such. Or maybe it’s the fact that it’s been a couple of months since I was able to sit down and draft and just have fun. (More on that in a minute).

Whatever is wrong with me, I decided to give myself some unsolicited advice, and I’m posting it here in case you need to hear some of these things, too.

Okay, buttercup. Here comes the tough love.

  • Just because you’re not writing every day doesn’t mean that you have forsaken your writing. There are other things that are just as important when it comes to cultivating a literary career; promotion, revision, networking, and (gasp) reading are all vital parts of building your craft. No, they may not be as fun as drafting and flinging words on the page, but they are part of this wonderful job that you asked for, so stop moping.
  • Some days are just going to suck. So what? That doesn’t mean you’re allowed to wallow around in misplaced self-pity. Take a bubble bath, take a walk, meditate, and then please try to let it go.
  • Books are beautiful things, and their creators are pretty spectacular. Never forget for a moment that writing is something many people dream of: be proud that you are making this dream a reality.
  • Everything takes time. Let me say that again, because I know it’s hard for you: EVERYTHING TAKES TIME. Slow down and let things simmer. It will be what it’s supposed to be.
  • That doesn’t mean you’re allowed to get lazy. Down time is fine; a Candy Crush marathon for a week straight, not so much.
  • I’m incredibly proud of you. Seriously: stop for a minute and look at where you are now. Remember where you were a year ago, or two, or three? You are following your bliss, and that’s an amazing, beautiful thing.

And another thing…

Just keep swimming.

What advice do you need to give yourself today?

 

