Tags

, , , ,

Today, I’m thrilled to present Susan Crispell. Her sweet magical realism romance, LOVE AND CUPCAKES, came out yesterday. I can’t wait for y’all to meet her!

1. When did you start writing?

I went to college with the plan to major in marine biology and train orcas at Sea World after graduation. Then I had the revelation that I wasn’t that into science and I was a really crappy swimmer. So, I signed up for a creative writing class my sophomore year, mostly because I needed another class and Intro to Fiction was open. And I fell in love.

2. Are you a pantser or a planner?

I am a hard core planner. When I start to write a new book, I usually have a pretty good idea of what happens in each chapter and I know where the story will end. And as I write, things always change and morph into something I wasn’t expecting, but the large details remain the same.

3. Can you give us an idea of your writing process?

My writing process starts with NaNoWriMo. I know that’s weird, but it is what it is. Having to write roughly 200 pages in a month really makes me focus. And by the end of November, I am so into a book that I have to finish it, and I’m much more diligent about writing on my lunch breaks and on the weekends until the draft is done. Then I read through the draft (either printed on my Kindle) making edits and notes for revisions before jumping back into the text to edit.

4. Which authors have influenced your work?

Sarah Addison Allen, no question. Her style of southern friend magical realism is so gorgeously written and her characters so quirky and memorable. I adore her and her books. Also, not an author, but the TV genius Bryan Fuller, who created Pushing Daisies, Wonderfalls, and Dead Like Me. I worship at his feet. (And I have a wax lion to prove it.)

5. What are your plans/future projects/new releases that we should be aware of?

I’m revising my adult magical realism novel Nowhere about a girl who can make wishes come true just by thinking about them. She’s pretty sure that’s how she accidentally erased her brother from existence a decade before. Or maybe it’s all in her head.

And In February, I’m going to a YA writer’s retreat/workshop at the Djerassi Resident Artists Program, taught by the amazing Nova Ren Suma. I’ll be working on my YA paranormal romance about a teenage grim reaper who falls for the brother of a girl she reaps.

6. Any tips for new writers?

Read. Read books and blogs and Twitter feeds of authors and agents and editors. Read everything you can. Some of it will help you with your craft; some will help you with the business side of being an author. But it will all make you a better writer.

7. Any tips for old writers?

Read. (Yes, I know, that sounds repetitive, but really it’s not!) Reading books in your category and/or genre will help you know what your books will be shelved with. And reading books outside what you write will open you up to different voices and characters that could spark something for your own stories.

About LOVE AND CUPCAKES

For Jaclyn “Jack” Pace, sensing what sweets people crave is as easy as breathing. But it’s not enough to keep her cupcake bakery in the black.

So, when her estranged sister Harper comes back to town with an affinity for making art out of icing—and a past full of secrets—she reluctantly gives Harper a job and a place to crash.

As their sisterly relationship begins to thaw, the one with her business partner Graham starts to heat up. Given the legend that says Hollingsworth men will recognize their soul mates at first touch, Jack’s always been resigned to the fact that she’s not his.

But when she starts sensing desires that are decidedly not dessert-related, it’ll take all of her magic to set things right with customers and make her own desires come true.

Love and Cupcakes is a delightfully sweet and sensual romance from Susan Bishop Crispell.

About Susan Bishop Crispell

Susan Bishop Crispell is not one of those writers who’s been scribbling down stories since she could hold a pencil. She didn’t read constantly growing up (blasphemy!), and she can still be found in public without a book tucked into her purse (again with the blasphemy!).

She is, however, the kind of writer who lives for the imaginative spark that introduces her to a new character or story idea that pushes her to turn everyday life into something magical.

Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Pinterest | Tumblr | Blog | Website

