Tags

, ,

Today, I’m joined by one of my lovely Month9Books pub sisters, Dorothy Dreyer.  You might remember the awesome Vlog she shared with us this spring about adding a little horror to your writing.  I hope you enjoy getting to know her!

Dorothy Dreyer Author PhotoMclose1. When did you start writing?

I’ve always written, for as long as I can remember. But I began writing seriously about five years ago. I wrote three other books before one finally made it into the publishing world.
2. Are you a pantser or a plotter?

I’m a plotter. I need a plot to lead me through the book. Some details may change along the way, but I need an outline of the basic idea so I can see where I’m going. It’s easier for me to get to the goal that way.

3. Which authors have influenced your work?

JK Rowling, Maggie Stiefvater, Veronica Roth, Cynthia Hand, Michael Crichton, and John Grisham, to name a few.

4. What are you plans/future projects/new releases that we should be aware of?sisreapcover

Book two of the Reaper’s Rite series is in revisions. It’s the sequel to My Sister’s Reaper, and I’m excited to share it with everyone. Expected release is May 2014.

5. Any tips for new writers?

My very first and most important piece of advice for aspiring writers is: read! Read, read, read. Not just books in the genre you want to write in, but other books as well. Books from well respected authors, or authors said to have a good voice. But definitely know your genre, know what’s out there, and know what’s received well. If you aren’t immersed in the world you’re writing for, it will show in your writing that you don’t know much about it.

Secondly, never give up. If this is a dream you’re reaching for, do not stop chasing it. That’s not to say your first manuscript should be the one you never give up trying to get signed. If your manuscript isn’t getting a lot of positive feedback, then it might be time to move on to the next one. But don’t give up the dream. There’s a lot to be said about perseverance.

6. Any tips for old writers?

Keep reading! Don’t ever lose touch with the art and beauty of a book. Also, don’t be afraid to evolve. Things change all the time, and just as everyone else, writers will need to be flexible in our craft when the times call for it.
 
Blurb for MY SISTER’S REAPER
Sixteen-year-old Zadie’s first mistake was telling the boy she liked she could bring her dead sister back to life. Her second mistake was actually doing it.
When Zadie accidentally messes with the Reaper’s Rite that should have claimed her sister Mara, things go horribly wrong. Mara isn’t the same anymore—Zadie isn’t even sure she’s completely human. To top it off, a Reaper is determined to collect Mara’s soul. Now Zadie must figure out how to defeat her sister’s Reaper or let Mara die … this time for good.
Author Bio
Dorothy Dreyer has always believed in magic. She loves reading, writing, movies, takeout, chocolate, and spending time with her family and friends. Half-American and half-Filipino, Dorothy lives in Germany with her husband and two teens.  Dorothy is an author of young adult books. Her debut, MY SISTER’S REAPER, released June 18, 2013, from Month9Books. The sequel releases May, 2014.
Connect with Dorothy:
Author Website: http://dorothydreyer.com
