Tags

, , ,

I’m back from the SCBWI Carolinas conference (more on that later, when I’ve had time to process all the amazing things!) and my week started off with a letter to my teen self.

Have you heard of Dear Teen Me? It’s a wonderful idea; YA authors write letters to themselves as teens, and then (gulp) the letters get posted for the world to read.

I wrote my letter to my senior year self.  Would you like to read it?

img114Teen me says pretty please!

(Note: this picture is the morning of my graduation open house.  The hair was a mistake, which you’ll learn when you read my letter).

Here’s my Dear Teen Me letter.

This was surprisingly hard to write! There are so many things I’d like to tell my younger self, but then again, I know I wouldn’t be who I am in this moment if I hadn’t experienced all the good and bad of the past.  I wouldn’t change anything, and I realized that while writing this letter.

What would you say to your teenage self?  And, perhaps more importantly, what wouldn’t you say?

