Tags

, , , ,

A few months ago, I decided to listen to my heart and take a big, out of my comfort zone risk: I signed up for yoga teacher training.  I’ve been practicing yoga for years, but in the past seven months, I’ve upped my commitment in preparation for the training.

Freedom to fly 2Starting on Monday, I’ll be completing a three-week intensive which will leave me a) potentially feeling like jell-o, and b) certified at the RYT 200 level (the first level of certification for a yoga teacher).  I can’t wait, but I’m a bit nervous, too; the schedule is, well, intense (eight hours a day, six days a week, for the next three weeks), and even though I’ve taught for years, teaching yoga is new to me.  I asked the owner of one of the studios where I love to practice if she had any advice before I started the training, and she said, “Prepare to be vulnerable.”

Gulp.

To get ready for the training, I’ve had a stack of yoga books to read (I’m almost done!), extra classes to attend, and a book report to write.  It’s been a long time since I’ve been a student, and it’s been really fun tapping into that part of my mind again.  Still, despite all my preparation, it seems a little bit hard to believe that the training is finally here.

I’ll still be writing away when I get home from the training each day, but I know that I probably won’t be online much (although I’ve got some great Writers on Wednesday scheduled and ready to go for the rest of the month, so make sure you check back!)  I’ll miss you, friends, but I can’t wait to share my new experiences with you at the end of the training in August.  Send me lots of energy and bravery, and I’ll see you in a few weeks!

