Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I signed up for this reading challenge (after my successful attempt last year of reading 100 books in 2012) and I thought it would be a fun way to kick off the New Year! Here are my next two witchy titles for 2013:

Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake

I love finding Wiccan characters in fiction, and the mother of the protagonist in this wonderful novel is another great addition.  Cas, the main character, hunts restless ghosts and sends them on their way, and after each hunt, his mom waits at home with a jar of salt to cleanse his blade and a handful of other protective charms.  But when Cas faces off with something far worse than he’s ever encountered before, he will need all the magical support his mom can offer…but will it be enough?

Make Magic of Your Life by T. Thorn Coyle

I had the chance to read this elegant nonfiction text for the Patheos Book Club, and I am so thankful I did.  Coyle presents very real ways to infuse magic into your day-to-day life, and working through the four powers of the sphinx (To Know, To Will, To Dare, and To Keep Silence) helped me make some inner shifts and realize that now is the time to take a chance I’ve been dreaming of for a long time.  This is a great magical read for anyone whose life feels slow or stagnant.

What magical reads have you discovered lately?  I haven’t set a goal yet for this challenge, but I’m so close to the next level, and it’s only May; plenty of time to keep reading!  Any good witchy suggestions?

