Tags

, ,

This week, I’m thrilled to bring you an interview with fellow Month9Books author Shannon Duffy!

1. When did you start writing?

I started writing Gabriel Stone about eight years ago! Yes, eight. But, I only wrote a few pages and then stopped because of, well, life. It was about four years later that my husband found those few pages on an old computer and encouraged me to finish it…which I did. I thank him for that!
2. Are you a pantser or a planner?

A pantser. I like to have a basic plan—in my head—and just go with it. I take notes in a separate doc along the way of things I need to tie in, stuff about character arc, things that come to mind to add, etc
3. Can you give us an idea of your writing process?

On writing days I usually write in the afternoon. In the morning, I’m usually answering emails and doing social media stuff. My favorite time to write is on the weekends when my son is out sometimes. The house is quiet and there aren’t usually errands to run. I close myself off in my bedroom and work on my laptop. I seem to get the most done then.
4. Which authors have influenced your work?

Carolyn MacCullough, Rick Riordan, Lauren Oliver just to name a few.
5. What are you plans/future projects/new releases that we should be aware of?

There’s a sequel to Gabriel Stone and the Divinity of Valta that I’ve already written and is coming out next February. Its title is, Gabriel Stone and the Wrath of the Solarians. That was SO fun to write! And I have a YA Cyberpunk/Dystopian-ish book coming out called Awakening. (I don’t know the date of its release yet). And I’m currently working on a NA Contemporary Thriller. I know, I know, I like variety. =)
6. Any tips for new writers?

If you love it, don’t give up! For some it comes easy, but for most, it’s something you have to work at. Believe in yourself! Also, find good critique partners, make friends in the writing community, and READ. A lot.
7. Any tips for old writers?

Take a break in between writing books to re-charge your muse and to just have time for YOU and your family. When it gets frustrating, remember why you started writing, which for most, I think, is because we love it. And in my opinion, it’s about quality, not quantity—thus the break in-between. =)

AUTHOR BIO:

I grew up on the beautiful east coast of Canada in the province of Newfoundland. As a kid, I devoured books as fast as my mom could buy them for me. It was something she never denied me, and I remember flipping through the pages much further into the night than I was supposed to…straining my eyes under the dim hall light. Now, I live in Ontario and have an amazing husband, an awesome son, and three dogs. Somewhere in the middle of all that you might find me with a cup of raspberry chocolate coffee in hand or shopping.

Goodreads Blurb: Gabriel Stone is a twelve-year-old boy still reeling from the unsolved disappearance of his mother. With a dad who’s hard to relate to, and mounting pressures at school, Gabriel lets off steam by hiking in the place where his mother was last seen. There, Gabe and friends find a crystal that proves not only beautiful, but magical beyond their wildest dreams. Only, magic and beauty come with a price: in order to return home, they must save the dying world of Valta.

Buy Links:

Barnes & Noble

Chapters/Indigo

Chapters/Indigo Kobo

amazon paperback

Amazon kindle

Thanks so much for inviting me to your blog today!

 

