Tags

, , ,

Hello, fellow A-Z Challenge participants!  What a fun month it’s been so far.  Today, I’m thrilled to spotlight…

Tris from Divergent by Veronica Roth

First, let me just say: if you haven’t tumbled into this heart-racing dystopian series yet, I hope you start reading it ASAP!  This is one of my favorite books, and I think a major reason I love the story so much is Tris.

Tris is the name the protagonist, Beatrice, picks for herself after effectively defecting from her family and the way she’s been raised to join another faction.  Even though teens have a choice, it’s usually expected that they will remain with the faction that raised them when the time comes.  But as Tris leaves behind her family and her selfless upbringing, she transforms.

Tris is braver than she thinks, stronger than she looks, and stuck in the middle of what is fast becoming a revolution.  I love her, and I can’t wait to see how her story shapes up in the third book, due out this fall.

What’s your favorite dystopian story?

