Tags

,

The A-Z Challenge is winding down, but make sure you see what everyone has in store this week!  I’ve been spotlighting some of my favorite YA/MG characters, and today I’m delighted to bring you…

Strider from The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien

Okay, so maybe The Lord of the Rings isn’t technically classified as YA literature, but many readers discover this mythical series as adolescents, and I couldn’t let this month go by without talking about one of my all-time favorite literary characters.

Strider is a ranger.  He’s broody and mysterious, but he’s clearly got a heart of gold; the help he offers to Frodo and the other hobbits early in their quest is invaluable.  I want to make a distinction: the character I adore is Strider the Ranger, not Aragorn the King. I love Strider’s Robin Hood-esque persona, and the depth to his character that comes from his service, not his heritage.

Which LOTR character is your favorite?

