Tags

, ,

Thanks for stumbling through the alphabet with me!  Make sure you check out the other A to Z Challenge participants; I’ve discovered some awesome blogs this month!  Without further ado, (hehe), I bring you the letter O.  Since I’m focusing on some of my favorite YA/MG characters, O is for…

Oberon from A Midsummer Night’s Dream by William Shakespeare

Okay, I know this isn’t technically YA, but I first read this wonderful play when I was in eighth grade (in my English class), and when I was still teaching middle school, I forced it on my eighth graders, too.  Even if Shakespeare didn’t write with a teen audience in mind, Midsummer is filled with sex, humor, and rebellion, and a lot of young readers love it (if they can get past the fear of Shakespeare).

Oberon is the king of the fairies, and he’s really the puppet master of the entire play.  Because he and his queen, Titania, are fighting, Oberon sends Puck in search of a magic love flower.  He’s planning to shame his bride by making her fall in love with something awful, but along the way, he overhears the Athenean lovers, and he directs Puck to fix the relationship between Helena and Demetrius.  Hilarity ensues, and although Puck is often attributed as the cause, Oberon gave the orders.  I actually sort of DON’T like this character, but I love the play, and I recognize that Oberon is at the root of the story, so I tip my hat to the king of the fairies.

Anyone want to brush up your Shakespeare?

Which Shakespearean play is your favorite?

