Tags

, , , ,

Whew!  It’s finally Friday.  I don’t know about you, but this week has felt long…maybe it’s because it’s my first week back from vacation.  Anywho, I’m thrilled to bring you my favorite K character today.  K is for…

Katsa from Graceling by Kristin Cashore

Katsa is a killing machine.  Because of her Grace, she can kill anyone with her bare hands.  While the Graced are often set apart, Katsa is even more isolated; her uncle uses her to do his dirty work, and her fearsome reputation doesn’t match her heart.  When she finally defies her uncle, Katsa starts a chain of events that might not only save herself, but the kingdom as well.

I love Katsa.  She’s strong (physically), but she’s all tangled up emotionally.  Katsa’s greatest strength is ultimately in allowing herself to be vulnerable, something a lot of readers can resonate with.

How do you define strength of character in the books you read?

