Tags

, , , ,

When I was making my A-Z challenge list, H was one of the first letters I filled.  I knew exactly which character to spotlight today!  I’m thrilled to bring you…

Hermione from the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

Smart girls everywhere cheered when Hermione Granger appeared on the literary scene.  Finally, here was a girl who was not only vital to a heart-pounding magical quest, but who was able to use her brains to solve impossible problems along the way.  I love Hermione in all of the books in the HP series, but I think I adore her most when we first meet her in Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone.

Before she grows up and learns to flirt, Hermione is bold, confident, and almost too intelligent for her own good.  (I’m pleased to say that this doesn’t change even once she does learn to flirt!)  She’s bossy, and initially, the readers and other characters sort of despise her.  But all that changes when she proves she can hold her own in a fight (there’s a messy scene with a troll involved), and Harry and Ron soon find themselves depending on Hermione to get them out of tough situations.

Plus, the girl gets to use a time turner.  How cool is that?

Who is your favorite female character?

