Tags

, , ,

My guest today is Nan Lundeen.  Check out her Moos of Writing column here:

 

Nan Lundeen1. When did you start writing?

My Aunt Neni was my first Muse. I escaped the isolation of our Iowa farm when she took me on a train ride (!) to Chicago where I experienced many firsts: sleeping in a hotel, going to a Cubs game, eating breakfast in a restaurant, hearing Nat King Cole in concert, and soaking up the taxi horns, the bus fumes, and the bustle of city streets teeming with people. When we returned home, the experience clamored for the written page. I was about eight years old.

2. Are you a pantser or a planner?

I listen for the Muse, and I net ideas as they flutter by. My celebratory, strong-women poems became a book, The Pantyhose Declarations,(available on Amazon) after a super sad poem I shared at a reading compelled a friend to ask me to read something fun next time. I realized people need more joy in their lives. See and hear me read the title poem at http://www.nanlundeen.com.

3. Can you give us an idea of your writing process?

I employ relaxation, meditation, free writing, and affirmations to connect with the Muse.

4. Which authors have influenced your work?

Writers on women’s spirituality such as Vicki Noble and Karen Vogel who co-created the Motherpeace tarot cards and Diane Stein who writes about women’s circles influence my philosophy and my belief system, which are evident in my writing. Mary Oliver’s poems about nature and Maxine Kumin’s sheer brilliance inspire me. May Sarton’s poems, journals, and novels mentored my maturation as an independent woman writing about the courage it takes to live an ordinary life.

5. What are you plans/future projects/new releases that we should be aware of?

I’m writing a book on the creative process, The Moo of Writing: How to Milk Your Potential. It’s nearly finished, and I’ll soon begin looking for a good agent. Meanwhile, if you’re interested, read my Moo columns at http://www.femalefirst.co.uk/books/moo+of+intuition-271427.html.

6. Any tips for new writers?

New writers should heed William Faulkner’s advice: “Read, read, read. Read everything—trash, classics, good and bad, and see how they do it.”

7. Any tips for old writers?

Writers who’ve been at it awhile, should heed, “Read, read, read.” Dip into genres that you haven’t tasted before.

The Pantyhose Declarations

