Tags

We all know that setting is an important part of any story.  It sets the stage for our action, and we hope it creates a mood that lingers with readers long after the book is done.  As part of the Blogger Book Fair, I asked my fellow authors to tell us why they set their stories where they did.  Here are some of their responses, as well as some information on their wonderful novels!

 

Why did you choose to set your novel when and where you did?

“I set Wild Point Island, my paranormal romance, on a mythical WildPointIsland_FrontCoverisland off the coast of North Carolina because my hero is a revenant, a descendant of the Lost Colony of Roanoke.  He is over 400 years old and one of the original settlers who colonized the island of Roanoke, Virginia in 1592.  Although most historians believed until recently that the colonists had perished, which is why they are referred to as the “lost colony,” my story took a different track and asked the question—what if they relocated to another island and survived?  Interestingly, new evidence now supports the theory that the colonists did, indeed, survive and they relocated to another location.  Perhaps, it was Wild Point Island . . .”  Kate Lutter

 

About Kate Lutter:

Kate spends her days writing contemporary paranormal romances and traveling the world.  Her debut novel, Wild Point Island, the first in a series, has just been published by Crescent Moon Press. She is busy writing the sequel and her weekly travel blog Hot Blogging with Chuck, which features her very snarky and rascally almost famous cat.

Contact Information:

Website: www.katelutter.com

Facebook: www.facebook.com/katelutternovelist

Blog spot: www.katelutter.blogspot.com

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/katelutter

Email: katelutter.author@gmail.com

Buy Links: http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=wild+point+island

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s?store=allproducts&keyword=wild+point+island

I wrote “Forget Me Not” in Great Falls, MT because I knew Adeline and Cole were not from Augusta, GA. Obviously, Cole is Native American and I researched North American tribes to try to find Cole’s home. When I came across the Chippewa tribe, I knew this was Cole’s tribe. Although the Little Shell Indians did not have a federal recognized reservation (at the time of my research and writing in 2008), they were living in and near Great Falls, MT. And I honestly wanted to write about somewhere I had never been. I wanted to escape, not stay somewhere I knew.” Allison Blanchard

Forget Me Not Front Cover FINAL

About Allison:

Allison Blanchard is currently a student at Georgia College and State University in Milledgeville, Georgia where she is pursuing her bachelor degrees in English Creative Writing and French. She is an active sister in Sigma Alpha Omega where she continues to grow as a woman in Christ. She writes everyday, drinks too much coffee, and is looking forward to the next adventure her characters will take her.

My website: www.allisonblanchard.com

My blog: http://allisonblanchardbooks.blogspot.com/

My Twitter: https://twitter.com/apblanchard

My Facebook Page: http://www.facebook.com/allisonblanchardbooks

My Goodreads Page:

http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6559877.Allison_Blanchard

“My main character, Ava, is an “ordinary” girl (who eventually finds out she’s not so ordinary.) So I wanted a setting that seemed just as ordinary – a college town in middle America (almost right in the middle, since she lives in Missouri.) I wanted it to be a place where any of us could have lived, or visited, or gone to college, so the reader might think, “Hey, maybe this could happen here.”” T.M. Franklin

About T.M. Franklin

T.M. Franklin started out her career writing non-fiction in a television newsroom. Graduating with a B.A. in Communications specializing in broadcast journalism and production, she worked for nine years as a major market television news producer, and garnered two regional Emmy Awards, before she resigned to be a full-time mom and part-time freelance writer. After writing and unsuccessfully querying a novel that she now admits, “is not that great,” she decided to follow the advice of one of the agents who turned her down—write some more and get better at it. Her first published novel, MORE, was born during National Novel Writing month, a challenge to write a novel in thirty days.

She lives in the Pacific Northwest with her husband, Mike, is mom to two boys, Justin and Ryan, and has an enormous black dog named Rocky who’s always lying nearby while she’s writing. Whether he’s soothed by the clicking of the computer keys or just waiting for someone to rub his belly is up for debate.

Website           |           Facebook         |           Twitter            |           Goodreads

Fractured Light

“Fractured Light is set in the Utah mountains – have you seen those? They are huge and so beautiful. Fractured Soul is set at an all girls school in remote upstate New York. A huge private school deep in the woods? Awesome! And both books are in this time because that’s what I know. Lazy much? Why yes I am.” Rachel McLellan

Author Bio

Rachel McClellan was born and raised in Idaho, a place secretly known for its supernatural creatures. When she’s not in her writing lair, she’s partying with her husband and four crazy, yet lovable, children. Rachel’s love for storytelling began as a child when the moon first possessed the night. For when the lights went out, her imagination painted a whole new world. And what a scary world it was…

Fractured Soul

 Find Rachel

 Facebook  |   Blog   |   Website   |   Twitter   |   Goodreads  |  Book Trailer

Buy Fractured Light

 Amazon   |   Barnes and Noble

 Buy Fractured Soul

 Amazon   |   Barnes and Noble 

“For my novel Mortal Remains, I chose Florida and the Caribbean.  I tend to always end up at the ocean in my writings.  I grew up on the Pacific Ocean in Oregon and the beauty and ferocity of it is one of the keys that opened that great welling of spirit we writers seek to express to others.  I got the idea for Mortal Remains while watching a program on blue holes in and around the Bahamas.  Those holes going straight down into the earth were so creepy, there just had to be a story there.” Jason Andrew Bond

“In my latest novel, The End of All Things, I wanted my main character to be an ordinary girl faced with an extraordinary situation. It’s much easier for a reader to identify with a character who’s like someone they know. I chose to set it in Canada and the United States because of all the different geographical zones, which make for an interesting travel setting.”  Lissa Bryan

Author bio: Lissa Bryan is an astronaut, renowned Kabuki actress, Olympic pole vault gold medalist, Iron Chef champion, and scientist who recently discovered the cure for athlete’s foot…. though only in her head. Real life isn’t so interesting, which is why she spends most of her time writing.

Her first novel, Ghostwriter, is now available through The Writer’s Coffee Shop (which is the least expensive option), AmazoniTunes, and Kobo. Her second novel, The End of All Things, will be released on January 24, 2013, and is now available for pre-order. Her third novel, tentatively titled Daughter of the Wind and Waves is in-progress.

http://lissabryan.blogspot.com
http://www.facebook.com/lissa.bryan
http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5442345.Lissa_Bryan

For my first novel I chose a location that while it was fictional was located in a place I was more familiar with…until they took a trip to the past.” Tammie Clarke Gibbs

header2.jpg