Tags

, , , ,

I’m happy to welcome S.M. Boyce to the blog today as part of the Blogger Book Fair.  She’s here to talk about the amazing fantasy world she crafted in the Grimoire Saga.

Imagine you have a blank check and the freedom to travel anywhere you please. Where would you go? What would you see?

Well imagine this: red sunlight burning the horizon as you wake up to a crisp breeze through your open window. A landscape of rolling hills and dense green forests. Untouched nature. Towering mountain ranges that go on forever. Grottoes with an endless labyrinth of tunnels.

Now imagine you have the VIP access. You get to see your travel destination for what it truly is: both terrifying and beautiful.

Welcome to Ourea, the world of the Grimoire Saga. Here, only the cunning survive. The vast landscapes and ancient history can captivate, but you have to be careful of the locals.

Ourea is a hidden world that’s tied to the Earth by portals called lichgates. When you walk through a lichgate, the land you cross into is not what you would see if you’d simply walked around the licghate. This is a land of magic, death, and power.

This is a complex place ruled by three types of creatures. The most evil are the isen, or soul stealers that can trap your soul for hundreds of years and take on your appearance for however long they please. Most secretive are the immortal drenowith, who can change form and prefer to remain anonymous.  Most powerful are the yakona, who live in five warring kingdoms and constantly try to outwit each other.

Ourea is no place for a human, not really. In this world where politics and magic collide, there isn’t much room for anyone.

In the Grimoire Saga, Kara Magari stumbles into this magical world quite by accident. While trapped in a sunken library, she opens a book called the Grimoire and is marked as its master.

That causes problems.

The second she opens the Grimoire, Kara becomes a magical artifact. Only she can read the book, and its secrets are worth killing for. She’s left with two choices: become a slave to the highest bidder, or learn to fight for herself and overthrow the no-rules arena that is Ourean politics.

Ourea is a beautiful world brimming with corrupted morality. In the end, Kara has to ask herself what she will do to survive…and why her life is worth saving.

 

Lichgates_NewLichgates (Grimoire Saga #1)

Book Description

Now an international Amazon bestseller. Fans of The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings, and Eragon will enjoy this contemporary remix of the classic epic fantasy genre.

—————-

Kara Magari is about to discover a beautiful world full of terrifying things—Ourea.

Kara, a college student still reeling from her mother’s recent death, has no idea the hidden world of Ourea even exists until a freak storm traps her in a sunken library. With no way out, she opens an ancient book of magic called the Grimoire and unwittingly becomes its master, which means Kara now wields the cursed book’s untamed power. Discovered by Ourea’s royalty, she becomes an unwilling pawn in a generations-old conflict—a war intensified by her arrival. In this world of chilling creatures and betrayal, Kara shouldn’t trust anyone… but she’s being hunted and can’t survive on her own. She drops her guard when Braeden, a native soldier with a dark secret, vows to keep her safe. And though she doesn’t know it, her growing attraction to him may just be her undoing.

For twelve years, Braeden Drakonin has lived a lie. The Grimoire is his one chance at redemption, and it lands in his lap when Kara Magari comes into his life. Though he begins to care for this human girl, there is something he wants more. He wants the Grimoire.

Welcome to Ourea, where only the cunning survive.

Get Your FREE Copy Now:

Amazon (US) | Amazon (UK) | Barnes & Noble | Smashwords | Kobo | Paperback

Read the 1st Chapter Free | Add it on Goodreads

Books in the Grimoire Saga

Lichgates

Treason

Heritage—available Fall 2013

Illusion—available Fall 2014

 

S. M. BoyceAbout S.M. Boyce

Published fantasy author. Twitter addict. Book Blogger. Geek. Sarcastic. Gooey. Odd. Author of the action-packed Grimoire Saga.

S.M. Boyce is a fiction novelist who loves ghosts, magic, and spooky things. She prefers loose-leaf tea, reads far too many books, and is always cold. She’s married to her soul mate and couldn’t be happier. Her B.A. in Creative Writing qualifies her to serve you french fries.

Boyce likes to update her blog a few times each week so that you have something to wake you up in the morning.

Connect with S.M. Boyce

Website | Blog | Advice for Writers

Facebook | Twitter | Google + | Pinterest | Youtube

Goodreads Page | Amazon Page

 

 

Advertisements