Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Welcome to another Writers on Wednesday!  I’m thrilled to bring you an interview with author Cindy Young Turner.  In October, she interviewed me on her blog, and it’s great to be able to return the favor.  Hope you enjoy learning a little more about this awesome lady!
1. When did you start writing?
I feel like I’ve been writing forever, probably since I realized I could write my own stories. It’s something I have always loved to do. When I was ten I finished my first novel, which I think was about 100 pages or so and will never see the light of day. I’ve been writing ever since!
2. Are you a pantser or a planner?
Definitely a pantser. I’ve tried to write outlines and I’m never able to follow them. Instead I have to write to find out what’s going to happen in the story, and often my characters do things I never expect. That’s part of the fun.
3. Can you give us an idea of your writing process?
I have a full-time job and a toddler, so finding time for myself is a challenge. These days I write whenever I have a chance. Usually that’s late at night. I find I write in spurts, so when I’m on a roll I can crank out a whole chapter at a time. I only wish I could stay up until 2 am and still function the next morning like I used to be able to do.
4. Which authors have influenced your work?
Some of my favorite authors include Ray Bradbury, Neil Gaiman, Marion Zimmer Bradley, J.R.R. Tolkien, and H.P. Lovecraft. I’m not sure how much they have influenced my writing, but I love their different writing styles and creativity.
5. What are you plans/future projects/new releases that we should be aware of?
I’m currently working on a sequel to Thief of Hope, which is my first fantasy novel that was published in 2011. Book 2 is called Thief of Destiny. I’m hoping it will be finished sometime in 2013. I also have a prequel novella called Journey to Hope that comes out as a $.99 ebook for Kindle on December 15.
6. Any tips for new writers?
Keep writing and submitting and don’t get discouraged. Publishing is a tough business, but the acceptance of self-published works and a lot of great small publishers are opening avenues for writers who haven’t been able to find a home in the traditional publishers. Most of all, do it because you love it and don’t compromise yourself or your writing.
7. Any tips for old writers?
Also to keep writing. 🙂 I’ve found marketing to be the part of publishing that I like the least and it’s challenging to balance the need to market to actually sell your book and the desire to write more. I know it’s hard not to focus on sales, but it seems like having more than one book out helps. And the love of writing is why we’re doing this in the first place, isn’t it?
Links:

Website: http://www.cindyyoungturner.com

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/AuthorCindyYoungTurner

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4882750.Cindy_Young_Turner

Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/AuthorCindyYT

