Tags

, , , , ,

One of my favorite authors, Kim Harrington, agreed to drop by this week and talk about her writing journey.  If you haven’t read her CLARITY books, fix that!  Kim weaves paranormal mystery with contemporary YA and MG stories that are impossible to put down.  I’m so excited to introduce her to you: enjoy!
When did you decide you were a writer?
I’ve wanted to be a writer since I could hold a pencil. I wrote stories in grade school. It’s always been my dream. It just took a while to come true. A long while. 😉 But I had a hard time calling myself a writer until I held my first book in my hand. It just didn’t seem real to me until then, even though I’d been writing for years.
 
What inspired you to write the Clarity books?

I wanted to write about a family of freaks—a family that’s weird, quirky, funny, and full of love for each other. Plus dead bodies, because that’s how I roll. 😉
 
What’s the most important thing you’ve learned on your path as a writer? What advice do you have for other writers?
The most important thing I’ve learned is that everyone has their own path and I shouldn’t waste my time comparing paths because that’s the one-way road to crazyville. When my son was little and he’d get upset because of something another child was doing, I’d say, “Focus on yourself.” And that’s good advice for writers, too. Don’t worry about who’s getting what book deal and who got what blurb and who got mentioned where. Focus on your own work and improving your craft. The other stuff will make you crazy because you have no control over it.
Can you give us an idea or sneak peek of your upcoming project, or a project you WANT to write?

My next book comes out January 1st and I’m so excited for people to read it! THE DEAD AND BURIED is a supernatural mystery about a teenage girl who discovers that the house her family just moved into is haunted, and she must solve the mystery of the ghost girl’s death. I’m really excited about it. It’s another murder mystery and of course there’s a bit of romance in it, but this one is also a ghost story. I’ve always loved spooky books and had a great time writing this one.
 
My links:
website – http://www.kimharringtonbooks.com
