Tags

, ,

My friend and fellow author, Ally Malinenko, tagged me in “the next big thing blog hop”, and for some reason, it’s taken me weeks to do this!  Woops!  I’m glad you’re here now, though, because I’m going to give you a sneak peek of my next big thing, plus a chance to sign up for a review ARC.  Drum roll, please…

What is the working title of your book?

The Key Inheritance

Where did the idea come from for the book?

This novella is the sequel to my debut novel, The Burning of Isobel Key.  When I finished writing that book a few years ago, I had no idea I’d return to the story.  But my readers keep asking me what happened next, so I finally decided to revisit Lou and find out!

What genre does your book fall under?

Contemporary women’s fiction with a dash of the supernatural.  It’s also a bit of a mystery story.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

When Lou goes back to Scotland to settle a family tragedy, she learns that some spirits do not rest easy.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Self-published as an ebook.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

As a 30K word novella, this was a bit quicker for me than my novels.  I finished the first draft in just over a month, but then the revision process started.  In fact, I’m still revising!

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Well, obviously, The Burning of Isobel Key.  I’d say this might also have the flavor of Discovery of Witches light.

Who or What inspired you to write this book?

My readers!  So many people wanted to know what happened after the last page of Isobel that they inspired me to find out!

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

If you are looking for a ghost who’s disturbed and powerful, you’ll love The Key Inheritance!  Also, readers who want more of Brian, the handsome Scottish tour guide, will have plenty of eye candy while reading!

The Burning of Isobel Key
New Adult/Contemporary
When Lou travels to Scotland, she’s a mess.  She’s twenty-six, unemployed, and unsure of herself.  It doesn’t help that she’s traveling with Tammy, her best friend, who is everything Lou is not.
At first, the trip pushes Lou towards the brink of depression, but then she meets Brian, a handsome local tour guide.  When Brian tells the tourists about the countless witches burned in Scotland, Lou starts to listen.  And when she discovers information about Isobel Key, one of the victims of the seventeenth century, Lou finds renewed purpose.
She sets out to learn the truth of the condemned witch, but she isn’t prepared for the knowledge that waits for her.  Lou must face her demons if she has any hope of righting the wrongs of the past.
THE BURNING OF ISOBEL KEY, available from Amazon Fall 2012.
Book Extras
Official Book Website | Book Trailer | Reading Guide
Grab Your Copy
Amazon (US) | Amazon (UK) | Goodreads
 | Createspace
