Tags

, , ,

Thanks for coming around again this weekend!  Today, I want to introduce you to the most famous face in Scotland: Hamish.  Lou didn’t get a chance to meet him in The Burning of Isobel Key, but that doesn’t mean I’ll deprive you of the opportunity!

Hamish is a Highland Cow (or, as it’s pronounced in Scotland, a “heeland coo”).  In the 1990s, during the Mad Cow scare, Hamish was quarantined.  Since that time, he’s been kept alive on his own, and a tourist attraction has grown up around the handsome cow.  He’s almost twenty years old (which is old even for the hardy Highland Cow).  He is, to be sure, an institution.

In 2007, when I visited Scotland, Hamish had been alone for over a decade.  He was adorable, but his isolated state made me really sad.  When I was prepping this blog post, however, I came upon the news that Hamish was no longer alone.  In 2010, he was introduced to Heather, who’s now his mate.  And sometime in 2011, the happy coo couple had a daughter named Honey.

Hamish is just one of the delightfully whimsical characters you’ll meet in Scotland.  I hope you’ll join me next week when I talk about the legend of the Giant’s Causeway.

Have you met Hamish? 

Want more Scotland?  Read THE BURNING OF ISOBEL KEY, available now!

Book Extras
Official Book Website | Book Trailer | Reading Guide
Grab Your Copy
Amazon (US) | Amazon (UK) | Goodreads
 | Createspace
