Tags

, ,

This week, I’m thrilled to present an interview with Jessica Fortunato, author of The Sin Collector books.  She’s here to talk about her writing process and where she draws inspiration. 

1. When did you start writing?

I have always been writing.  When I was little I wrote primarily for my Grandma whose one true love was the written word. She was my first reader, first editor, and biggest cheerleader.  When I was in college I wrote for my school newspaper, but otherwise I mostly wrote for myself in the dark.  It has only been recently that I put on my big girl boots and put my work out there for criticism and review.

2. Are you a pantser or a planner?

I’m not really sure what a pantser is, however I am DEFINITELY not a planner.  If I try to create a writing schedule, or force myself to sit and write nothing good happens. I work when I suddenly have a story or scene in my head and it’s on repeat until I type it out.

3. Can you give us an idea of your writing process?

I wouldn’t say I have much of a process. I write when inspiration strikes. I can go for two weeks without writing a word and then sit down and slap down 8,000 words in one day.  If I’ve learned one thing it is that I can’t force my writing.  All I can do is get my other life stuff done so that when inspiration hits I have the ability to slip into the zone without worry or interruption.
4. Which authors have influenced your work?

I love Oscar Wilde’s wit and word play.  I often try to emulate the whimsy and sincerity found in Alice Hoffman and Mitch Albom’s work.  I strive to always have twists and turns like many gothic/horror novelists.  I would say that everything I’ve ever read influences me.  Even if by influenced I mean “tells me what I do NOT want to do”

5. What are you plans/future projects/new releases that we should be aware of?

The Sin Collector:Thomas is a short story following Book One of the trilogy.  I chronicles the life of one of the favorite characters from my first Book.  I gave my readers a chance to vote for whose story they would like to hear and Thomas won and his story was released on July 20th, 2012.  You can find it here:

Other than that I recently finished a short story for an anthology due out later this year, it is not Sin Collector related.

I am also continuing to work on The Sin Collector: Sacrifice, Book Two in the trilogy, due out next year.

6. Any tips for new writers?

Just do it.  Write your story to the best of your ability and put it out there.  You might be the next big thing, or you might not be.  You will, however, be unknown if you continue to save your talent in a folder on your desktop because of fear of failure.

7. Any tips for old writers?

Yes, remember how hard it was to be a new writer?  Be nice, be fair, give people a break.  Mentor, don’t bully.  Don’t forget you started out as a nobody too, so always be willing to help a new writer.

Thank you for having me!

LINKS:

Official Sin Collector Website:

Buy The Sin Collector:

Buy The Sin Collector: Thomas:

Follow Jessica on Twitter:

Like The Sin Collector on Facebook:

