Tags

, ,

Happy Sunday!  I hope you’re curled up with a cup of tea and a scone.  Wait, you aren’t?  Well, hopefully you’ll be able to remedy that soon!

To celebrate the release of my debut novel, The Burning of Isobel Key  (which is set in Scotland), I’m starting a new feature here on the blog: Scottish Sundays.

Each Sunday, I’ll be posting on a different topic related to Scotland.  If you have suggestions of topic that you’d like to see, leave ‘em in the comments!

So, welcome to the first Scottish Sunday.

I have a confession to make: when I traveled to Scotland in 2007, I hated it.

Oops.

In my defense, I was there in December, not a time where the weather is known for being idyllic.  The sun came out once during the entire trip, so I was mostly cranky, cold, and suffering from vitamin D withdrawal.

But Scotland got under my skin.  The lush green carpet of grass, even in December, was magical.  The lavender clouds that hung low over the highlands filled me with a sense of magic, and the loud winter storms were filled with raw power.

It’s no surprise, then, that when I sat down to write my third novel, Scotland tapped on my brain.  Enough time had passed since my drippy trip that I was able to forget the uncomfortable cold and remember the lilt of the accents, the beauty of the landscape, and the piercing warmth of whiskey.

If you want inspiration, Scotland is the place.  The land is drenched in magic (and rain), and there are stories just waiting to be told around every corner and down every wynd.

Stay tuned next week for a post about the beautiful city of Edinburgh.

