Tags

,

Greetings, everyone!  Hope you’ve all recovered from the end of summer blues and are ready to dive into whatever this fall holds.  Today,  author Linda Pedley dropped by to talk about her writing process and juggling multiple projects.  Enjoy!

1. When did you start writing?

Way back in grade school and junior high, from what I remember. I have keepsakes that confirm my love for writing, especially poetry, from those early years. Somewhere in my boxes, I have binder from junior high full of short stories with my biggest influence being detective shows (Mannix), pioneer stories (Little House on the Prairie, The Road West), and anything to do with horses.

2. Are you a pantser or a planner?

I try not to do things by the seat of… and I used to be an avid planner… I guess now I don’t really fit into either category. As we all know, best laid plans end up against the wall if there is a sudden obstacle, so being able to react is good, although being proactive is much better. Did I really answer the question?

3. Can you give us an idea of your writing process?

My general writing process involves several components which cycle through my whole writing life – learn, create, share – the triad drives my creativity by ensuring I continue to gather knowledge and experience through individual work and group involvement. Applauding and promoting the achievements of fellow writers is high on my list. Specifically to the process of physically writing, I employ whatever I need, depending upon what I am writing. Leave editing to another day – get those ideas and thoughts to paper with rough, raw, creative passion. That which falls upon the paper without technical encumbrances is usually the best piece of work.

4. Which authors have influenced your work?

I love Shakespeare, but I also love the work of emerging authors, especially fellow writing circle members and friends. These extremes have had a profound influence upon me as I strive to follow a mentor and mentor those who follow

5. What are your plans/future projects/new releases that we should be aware of?

My ongoing novel “An Elizabethan Affair” is soon to be completed – it’s about William and I can’t seem to want to write it fast… Another novel, “Power Struggle” (born of NaNoWriMo 2010) is in final edit and I hope to release it soon, first, as an ebook.  I always have some WIP in varying stages of edit and progress and I always blog. This year I published my first YA novella, “A Journey of Brothers” as an ebook and that process speaks to the busy life I possess where it was written over time, edited among colleagues, and published to the electronic format easily, quickly, and inexpensively.  I plan to participate in NaNoWriMo 2012 and write the follow up novellas, two and three.

6. Any tips for new writers?

Respect the old writers. Their experience is invaluable.

7. Any tips for old writers?

Mentor the new writers. Your experience is invaluable.

To both: provide support and promotion throughout the literary community to build its foundation and keep it strong. Thinking anyone is better than the other, fractures it – we all have something to offer.

Follow Linda:
My blog
My company
http://www.dreamwritepublishing.ca/authors/linda-j-pedley
Facebook
Twitter: @wildhorse33
My new book

