Tags

, , , ,

Thanks to A.D. Trosper for tagging me for this fun interview.  It gives me the chance to talk about my next novel, and I also get to spread the love!  I’m tagging Patrice Caldwell, Mary Gray, Jaye Robin Brown, and Ally Malinenko.  Remember, ladies, talk about your current WIP, not a past project: give us a little sneak peak.

Now it’s time for my sneak peak 🙂

1. What is the working title of your book?  

Priestess of Moab

2. Where did the idea come from for the book?

After I read When God was a Woman by Merlin Stone, I had the idea to reinvision the Biblical story of Ruth, casting Ruth not only as a foreigner, but a devotee of one of the regional Queen of Heaven Figures, Astarte.  I was also inspired by the amazing novel The Red Tent by Anita Diamant. 

3. What genre does your book fall under? 

Historical and Paranormal

4. Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Gagh, hard question.  On impulse, I would cast Jennifer Lawrence (you know her best as Katniss) as Ruth, and Maggie Smith as Naomi. 

5. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book? 

When the strangers come to Moab, Ruth’s life will never be the same again.

6. Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency? 

Self-published

7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript? 

I started writing it in 2008.  I wrote in pieces, taking long stretches of time off to play with other projects, but I probably finished the first draft by 2009.

8. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

The Red Tent is the first that springs to mind.  Also, Hand of Isis.

9. Who or What inspired you to write this book?

As with so much I do, it goes back to the women in my family.  Ruth is an important figure for my grandmother, and she’s always been a part of my life.  Also, faith played into it: this novel was a chance for me to express my devotion to the Queen of Heaven, and to draw parallels between two seemingly disparate faiths.

10. What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Priestess of Moab is scheduled to be released on May 1, 2013: mark your calendars!

