Tags

,

My husband grew up in Oregon, and we try to travel to the west coast at least once a year to visit his family and favorite places.  I love this annual trip, and this year more than most it’s a much-needed getaway.  I taught my first summer semester at the community college this year, and I’m beyond fried.  To give you an idea of why, let me break down my schedule for you.  In the spring, I taught a total of three classes, which equaled about 12 hours on campus per week.  This summer, I taught two classes but spent 18 hours on campus each week.  You can see why I was ready for a vacation!

His grandfather built a beautiful little cabin on a bluff overlooking Lake Coeur D’Alene, in Idaho, and that’s where we spent the first half of our trip.  It’s the most peaceful, beautiful place I’ve ever been, and every time we come out here, I rejuvenate.  I also got a lot of writing done, staring at the blue waters of the massive glacial lake, so that’s part of what makes this a good vacation.

Sometimes, it’s so nice to get away from all things familiar and take refuge in a place with a lot of old family energy.  Where do you go when you need to recharge?

Stay tuned for vacation, part II: Seattle, Portland, and Oregon wine country.

*In other news, there’s still time to enter my summer giveaway.

